Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
High Tide Low Tide
3 novembre 2011

A question mark

Touching ground in Haiti, I felt joy.

Setting foot in Petionville, I felt tired.

Walking in Laboule, I felt disoriented.

Hiking in Kenskoff, I felt happy.

Passing through Le Portail, I felt bewildered.

Going out of Port-au-Prince, I felt unsettled.

Arriving in Leogane, I felt confused.

Settling in in our big white office/home, unpacking the belongings and goods that fitted in two bags, I felt obscene after witnessing life out of our big white Defender’s window.

I spent 11 days, eating, drinking, sleeping , washing and working in Haiti, 11 days where I enjoyed way more than the 1.3 million displaced Haitians, way more than the 2 million Haitians affected by the earthquake 22 months ago.

Way more than most on this side of Hispaniola island.

Basic needs that are eating, drinking, sleeping, washing and working, needs that are a challenge for most here. We, the international community, the aid workers, the believers that small changes can turn into big changes, we aim towards those basic needs in our line of work. Or should I say business?

People ask me: “how is Haiti?” and I say “ok”, it’s not.

It’s a huge question mark, a constructed identity in a context as virtual as its money.

Addresses  you can never find, homes that are as weak as a tired breath, a market that has been destroyed by our presence, neighbours  who you will never get to meet for security reasons, roads that take more lives away than there are traffic lights, a culture, strong and rooted that you can only enjoy from your barricaded compound after dark, beaches  that can only be shared with other expats…A system that exists but how?

P1240610I’m in Haiti, Leogane, where my feelings, impressions and thoughts are as contrasted as what one experiences here.

“How is Haiti?” my answer is: “a question mark that will take a different shape over the next 9 months…

…or not…”

Love and virtual hugs to all

P1240239P1240412

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
High Tide Low Tide
Publicité
Archives
High Tide Low Tide
Publicité