Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
High Tide Low Tide
28 septembre 2011

...Leaving Cartagena, December 9th 2009

Last June, I left people puzzled when announcing I was going to Colombia, leaving them to fantasise about a country they knew through the news and Hollywood movies.

Drugs, crimes, illegal armed groups and Shakira.

My knowledge of Colombia wasn’t thorough, I knew about the Andes, the coast, the conflict and Juanes.

6 months later, I’m sitting in the kitchen where I wrote most of the thesis and suffered from the heat, I can’t sleep. Too aware that in a few days I will have to say goodbye to this bewitching town, to loving kids, to warm-hearted housemates, to my hermanito and his lovely parents, without knowing if I will return.

I will take away with me the memory of every sticky kiss the kids gave me whilst drinking their fresh pressed fruit juice, the touch of their dirty hands wiping my face when dripping with sweat, their indelicate pull of my hair when wanting to get rid of what appears to be ‘white’ hair…The feel of my heart thumping with fright watching them balancing over the balcony or walking on the stairs’ banister and the tears dried after vicious stone fights and insults of all kinds.

I will take away with me the shocking words of racism exchanged between the Afro-Colombians- too young to understand they share the same historical background and the intense words of friendship and love written or said amongst them and to us, the teachers.

I will take away with me every rhythm and beat that made me escape frustration of working in a project that is failing and every drop of water enjoyed in a glass, in the shower, in the sea and remember the 24hours spent without a single drop of it.

I will take away with me every single one of the wonderful romantic peaceful nights walking in Cartagena, the nights laughing in the house and the last crazy night of randomness in Taganga. Taganga, touristy seaside village where the music never stops and where one meets friends by the dozen within an hour. Taganga was a whirlwind of all the fantasies enumerated by friends about Colombia. Drugs on keys in the open air, the open aired dance floor turning into a giant marijuana aquarium, handsome old men giving feet massage, old hippies letting loose on the beats and teaching us steps…

 

The Andes, the coast, the conflict and Juanes?

Living in the Andes literally takes your breath away, I’m besotted with the coast.The debate with Colombian friends is whether it is terrorism or conflict…Juanes received the Colombian peace prize in December.

Drugs, crimes, illegal armed groups and Shakira?

These days, Shakira is a she-wolf, illegal armed groups are still going strong, crimes happen everyday and drugs are served on a key…only just not everyday.

Colombia is bewitching, Cartagena is enchanting, Colombia Chapter II…coming to an end, looking forward to chapter III…

Colombian colours and love to you all.

<photo id="1" /><photo id="1" />

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
High Tide Low Tide
Publicité
Archives
High Tide Low Tide
Publicité